Skip to main content

Using Deployment Manager

Zuora

Using Deployment Manager

Note: The Deployment Manager feature is in the Early Adopter phase, which provides an enhanced digital experience. We are actively soliciting feedback from a small set of early adopters before releasing it as generally available. If you want to join this early adopter program, submit a request at Zuora Global Support.

Prerequisite

  • To use the Deployment Manager, you need to have a Platform Administrator permission to manage users and user roles both in the source tenant and the target tenant.
  • You need to log into the target tenant to run a deployment. A target tenant is a tenant that receives metadata objects from a source tenant during a deployment. 

Access Deployment Manager

After logging into the target tenant, you can access the Deployment Manager from the left-side navigation under Administration.

Access Deployment Manager.png

Create a source tenant

To run a deployment, you need to create a source tenant that hosts the metadata objects you want to migrate to other tenants. There are 2 ways to create a source tenant: 

  • From the Source Tenants tab on the landing screen of the Deployment Manager
  • When a new deployment run is created (See Run a deployment for information)

To create a source tenant from the Source Tenants tab: 

  1. Click Source Tenants, then click the  + New button.

Source tenant list.png

  1.  In the Add New Tenant dialog box, provide the required information on Client ID, Secret, and Environment.

  1. Click Authenticate to validate the source tenant. 

The source tenant will appear on the Source Tenants list with an Active status.

Run a deployment

Deployment is the process of migrating metadata objects from a source tenant to a target tenant.

To run a deployment:

  1. Click Deployment Run, the click the +New button.
  2. On the Basics step, provide the required information on Deployment Name, select a Source Tenant, leave Target Tenant as it is. Note that you have the option to create a source tenant at this point if the source tenant you have in mind is not on the existing list. 
  3. Click Next.
  4. On the Select step, use the toggle to select the component(s) you want to migrate from the source tenant to the target tenant. 
  5. Click Next.
  6. On the Compare and Deployment step, you can compare the source tenant value and target tenant value.
Comparing result Description
No change The source tenant value and the target tenant value are the same.
Different  The source tenant value and the target tenant value are different.
Only in target The related feature is only enabled in the target tenant and cannot be disabled through deployment. You can contact Zuora Global Support to disable the feature in the target tenant.
Feature disabled The related feature is only enabled in the source tenant. You can contact Zuora Global Support to enable the feature in the target tenant.
Cannot be reverted The value in the target tenant cannot be reverted after the deployment. 
Cannot be deployed The value cannot be deployed functionally. 

You can use the Show Difference toggle to quickly view the differences between the source tenant and the target tenant. The number of values that are different is highlighted with a red icon. 

Compare results.png

  1. Select the checkboxes of the component(s) or the sub-components that you want to migrate from the source tenant to the target tenant. 
  2. Click Deploy
  3. Click Confirm on the validation message if you want to run the deployment.
  4. On the Deployment Setup dialog box, select whether you want to receive an email notification for the deployment result. 
  5. Click Start Deployment.
  6. The deployment run will appear on the Deployment Run list with a status of Deploy in progress
  7. Click Refresh to see the latest status. 

Revert a deployment run

After a deployment run is complete, you can revert the values of the target tenant to their previous state. 

To revert a deployment run, on the Deployment Run tab, click Revert under the Action column. Upon reverted, the status of the deployment run will be changed to Reverted.

Note that only deployment runs with Done status can be reverted.   

View deployment run history and details

On the Deployment Run tab, you can view a history of previous deployment runs and their details. In addition, you can sort the list view by clicking on the column names.

A deployment run can have the following status.

Status Description
Deploy in progress The deployment is in progress. 
Done The deployment is successful. All select component(s) are migrated from the source tenant to the target tenant. 
Failed The deployment is unsuccessful. None of the selected component(s) is migrated from the source tenant to the target tenant. 
Reverted The revert is successful, meaning that all updated values of the target tenant have been reverted to their previous values before the deployment.  
Rollback failed The revert is partially successful, meaning that some updated values in the target tenant have been reverted to their previous values while others are not.

To check the task details of deployment or revert, click View Logs under the Action column to download the task log.

View deployment run.png