Considerations Before Deleting Invoices
Zuora provides a great deal of flexibility when it comes to managing your billing and payments, and with flexibility comes responsibility. If your tenant has been permissioned with the Cancel Posted Invoices feature, it means that users of your tenant (with the applicable user permissions) can unpost invoices. Unposting invoices is not best practice and should only be done with great caution, especially since deleted invoices cannot be restored. Thus, users should seek approval from their billing manager before performing this operation. Here are some reasons why a billing manager might approve canceling a posted invoice:
- A user entered the subscription information incorrectly and the resulting invoice is incorrect. Unpost the invoice in order to fix the subscription and regenerate the invoice.
- A user generated an invoice before uploading the usage for the account. Unpost the invoice in order to upload usage, then regenerate the invoice.
This article discusses how to unpost an invoice with the appropriate permissions.
To unpost an invoice, your tenant and the user performing the unpost operation must have the following permissions enabled:
- Tenant Permission: Cancel Posted Invoices
- User Permission: Cancel Posted Invoices. See Creating a Custom User Role for more information.
There are four invoice statuses and different actions can be taken to the invoice depending on its status:
- Posted: Posted invoices are locked and cannot be edited.
- A posted invoice can be unposted (the operation is called "cancel post") which reverts the invoice to draft status.
- Only the latest invoice in a customer account may be unposted.
- Invoices with associated payments or adjustments cannot be unposted, unless the associated payment or adjustment is canceled.
- Draft: Draft invoices can be edited or regenerated. A draft invoice can be posted or canceled.
- Canceled: Canceled invoices can be deleted and deleted invoices cannot be restored.
Steps to Delete A Draft Invoice
- Locate the invoice you would like to delete. Go to Billing > Invoices in the left-hand navigation section and search by invoice number, account number, or bill run number.
- Check to make sure the invoice is in Draft status.
- If the invoice has been posted, unpost the invoice by clicking More button (at the top right), then select Cancel Post. As described above, you can only unpost invoices that are not associated with payments or adjustments.
- Click the More button and select Delete Invoice.
Deleting posted invoices should be a rare necessity. We suggest building a process around understanding the reason for invoice errors in order to prevent its reoccurrence. In the event this is needed, make sure your records downstream are also updated to reflect the unposting. See article on how to verify the charges on your invoices are correct for more information.