Knowledge Center

Knowledge Center > Admin > Administrator Settings > User Roles > Billing Roles

Billing Roles

This reference lists the user roles and permissions associated with the Billing role. See User Roles for general information about user roles.

Billing User Roles

Your Zuora tenant has one Billing user role by default, the Zuora Billing Standard User role. You can also create custom Billing user roles as needed by clicking Add new role.

View Roles and Permissions

To access the Billing user roles and permissions, perform the following steps:

  1. Click your username at the top right and navigate to Settings > Administration > Manage User Roles.
  2. On the Manage Roles page, select Billing from the View Role List of list. 
  3. Click the role name or view to manage permissions assigned to the selected role.

Billing Permissions

The following table describes the Billing user permissions, and shows whether each permission is enabled for Zuora Billing Standard Users. Unless otherwise noted, all permissions control operations for both the Zuora UI and the APIs.

Area Permission Description Granted to Standard User?

Customer Accounts

Delete Accounts

Users can only delete accounts once they've been canceled. To cancel an account, the customer must have canceled their subscription first. 

Yes

Create Account

Create accounts either manually or by importing customer lists. See Create Customer Account

Yes

Create Contact

Each account must have at least one contact before it can be saved. Users can add a maximum of 100 contacts to an account.

Yes

Create Payment Method

Add Payment Methods for a Subscription - including credit cards, debit cards, bank transfer, e-wallet, direct entry, and prepaid gift cards. See Supported Payment Methods.

Yes

Modify Account

The permission includes:

Yes

Cancel Account

Cancel the account.

Yes

Change Payment Methods

Change Payment Methods for a Subscription - including credit cards, debit cards, bank transfer, e-wallet, direct entry, and prepaid gift cards. See Supported Payment Methods.

Yes

Delete Payment Methods

Delete Payment Methods from a Subscription - including credit cards, debit cards, bank transfer, e-wallet, direct entry, and prepaid gift cards. See Supported Payment Methods.

Yes

Subscriptions

Manage Subscriptions/Amendments

Add or remove a Subscription as well as Amendments to a Subscription. Amendments include adding, removing and updating products, changes to terms and conditions, renewals, and owner transfers. See Subscription Amendments.

Yes

Delete Subscriptions/Amendments

The permission includes:

  • Delete subscriptions in any status.

  • Delete amendments from a subscription. See Subscription Amendments for more information about amendment types.

Yes

Override Revenue Recognition Rule

Change the revenue rule in the Revenue Recognition Rule field of the Rate Plan Charge setting when creating a subscription or editing a draft subscription.

No

Invoices

Post Invoices

Post a Bill Run in order to collect payments for the Invoices in that Bill Run. See Reviewing and Posting Bill Runs

Yes

Override Transferred to Accounting 

Override transaction objects that have been Transferred to Accounting in order to modify them. See Transferred to Accounting.

No

Modify Invoice

Allows users to:

Yes

Cancel Invoice

Cancel a posted invoice that becomes effective before the last invoice date. See Amend or Cancel a Subscription Before the Last Invoice Date.

Yes

Delete Invoice

Delete invoices. See Deleting Incorrect Invoices.

Yes

Regenerate PDF

Regenerate the invoice PDF.

Yes

Email Invoice

Email invoices.

Yes

Invoice Adjustments
 

Note: Invoice Adjustments is deprecated on Production. Zuora recommends that you use the Invoice Item Adjustments instead.

Create Invoice Adjustment

Create an Invoice Adjustment or Invoice Item Adjustment. See Creating Invoice Adjustments and Invoice Item Adjustments.

Yes

Cancel Invoice Adjustment

Cancel an Invoice Adjustment. See "Canceling an Invoice Adjustment" in Create an Invoice Adjustment

Yes

Delete Canceled Invoice Adjustment

Delete a canceled Invoice Adjustment. See "Deleting an Invoice Adjustment" in Create an Invoice Adjustment

Yes

Override Transferred to Accounting

Change the Transferred to Accounting field of an invoice adjustment from Yes to a different value.

No

Change Reason Code

Change reason codes so that standard users can apply them to transactions. See Creating and Editing Reason Codes for more information on how to reconfigure reason codes.

Yes

Invoice Item Adjustments

Hide Canceled Invoice Item Adjustments

Hide canceled invoice item adjustments from the list of Invoice Item Adjustments in the Zuora UI. 

No

Create Invoice Item Adjustment

Create an Invoice Adjustment or Invoice Item Adjustment. See Creating Invoice Adjustments and Invoice Item Adjustments for more information on adjustments and how to reverse past adjustments. 

Yes

Cancel Invoice Item Adjustment

Cancel an Invoice Adjustment or Invoice Item Adjustment. See "Canceling an Adjustment to an Invoice Item" in Create an Invoice Item Adjustment

Yes

Delete Canceled Invoice Item Adjustment

Delete a canceled Invoice Item Adjustment. See "Deleting an Adjustment to an Invoice Item" in Create an Invoice Item Adjustment.

Yes

Override Transferred to Accounting

Change the Transferred to Accounting field of an invoice item adjustment from Yes to a different value.

No

Cancel Invoice Item Adjustment without Validation

Allows users to cancel invoice item adjustments, even if doing so causes the invoice balance to:

  • Move from positive to negative, or vice versa.

  • Move away from zero.

Unlike this permission, the Cancel Invoice Item Adjustment permission does not allow users to cancel invoice item adjustments in the above cases.

Grant this permission with care to a supervisor who fully understands the subsequent impact on accounting caused by the invoice balance change.

No

Product Catalog

Manage Product Catalog

Add a product to a product catalog. See Create a Product in Product Catalog

Yes

Bill Runs

Create Bill Runs

Create a bill run. See Creating Bill Runs

Yes

Usage Records

Update Usage Records

Update usage records. See Usage.

Yes

 

Create Usage Records

Add usage records. See Import Usage Data.

Yes

 

Delete Usage Records

Delete usage records. See Usage.

Yes

Attachments

Delete Attachments

Delete attachments. See Attachments.

No

Admin

Manage Billing Settings

Allows users to access Billing Settings. 

Yes

Credit and Debit Memos

Note: This feature is only available if you have the Advanced AR Settlement feature enabled.

Change Reason Code

Update the reason code of the credit and debit memos.

No

Post Credit/Debit Memo 

Post the credit and debit memos.

Yes

Last modified
22:06, 22 Aug 2017

Tags

Classifications

(not set)